Ms. Livingston and members of the Diné Community Advocacy Alliance lobbied the Navajo Nation government to pass the Healthy Diné Nation Act of … Division of Labor. Undated photo shows Fred "Uncle Fred" Willie, a citizen of the Navajo Nation, inside his home, a traditional hogan near Tuba City, Arizona. The Navajo Nation central government is composed of three branches headquartered in Window Rock, Navajo Nation (Arizona): 1. Chapters are semi-self autonomous, being able to decide most matters which concern their own chapter. The government structure was forced upon Navajo voters 86 years ago and was reorganized under three branches without their consent. As a result, many tribes have branches of government similar to those in our state and federal governments. In 1923, the Navajo Tribal Council was formed by the federal government. Council has the authority to pass laws which govern the Navajo Nation, members of the Navajo Nation, and certain conduct of non-member Indians and non-Indians within the territorial boundaries of the Navajo Nation. Each of these new models will incorporate the evolution of the Navajo government in lieu of its strengths and shortcomings. In 1981 members of the Navajo Nation's own department of forestry produced a series of reports that identified serious concerns in the forests of the Chuska Mountains and Defiance Plateau. Ultimately, this new model government will be built on an intelligent and thoughtful design from all aspects of the historical overview, contemporary overview and other government structures. The small groups came back together as a whole nation, following the political structures of Europe and the United States, to create cohesiveness. Consistent with the provisions of applicable laws and policies, the Navajo Nation will not improperly discriminate against … Spanning portions of Arizona, New Mexico and Utah, the 27,000-square-mile Navajo Nation is home to 180,000 people served by just 13 grocery stores and four hospitals. The development of Navajo Nation government, concentrating on its evolution since the 1920s. In the traditional Navajo economy there was a rigid though not total division between male and female tasks. Navajo Nation Council Division of Community Development Administration Resources Development Committee Community Housing & Infrastructure Department (CHID) Capital Project Management Department (CPMD) Administrative Service Centers (ASC) Community Involvement Specialist Engineering Te chnician Senior Office The FBI has published more than a dozen posters in the Navajo language to request the public’s help with homicide and missing-person investigations on or near the Navajo Nation. Examines the legal and political basis of Navajo Nation government, its structure and functions as well as powers and services, fiscal changes, and administrative growth. This is the official Facebook page of the 24th Navajo Nation Council. The policy of the Navajo Nation is to comply with all applicable laws that govern the employment relationship between the Navajo Nation and its employees. The Navajo Nation has three branches of government: executive, legislative, and judicial. To serve, the Chief Justice must be confirmed by the Navajo Nation Council. Navajo Social Structure. However, it was not until 1938 when the very first election took place. Since then through 1989, the Navajo Nation government consisted of the tribal council headed by the Chairman of the Council. There are considered the governing council of the Navajo Nation and are not affiliated with the State or Federal government. The governance negotiations team undertook the trip to examine the cost of operating a central government, the potential structure of that government as well as the potential role of that government. Such tribes have: An elected Governor, Chief, Chair, or President who holds the executive power in the tribe, for example, the President of the Navajo Nation. Each Navajo group is led by a certain chief, who was chosen by their counsel. The Navajo Nation comprises approximately 16 million acres, mostly in northeastern Arizona, but including portions of northwestern New Mexico and southeastern Utah. The Navajo Nation is the largest of over 560 federally recognized indigenous entities in the United States today.